Oh Dear ……

Published December 16, 2016 by Kim

Where has the year gone ….

January was taken up with spending as much time as I could with my new granddaughter.  Ruby Rose is now nearly a year old and brings so much pleasure to all that meet her.

February, I had my big   50th  birthday bash…. was nerve wracking and will probably never do a party like that again.  what to wear?? How much food to make?? Will people  turn up ??img_0003

It turned out to be a brilliant night,  people I didn’t expect to turn up did and others that said yes they’d be there weren’t, but most of all… those that did had fun and made some special  memories.

Also in February I made a slight career change from Senior Carer to Training Coordinator at first wasn’t sure but then as the job role developed and I caught up, the job became a good decision and became a good move.

March was a  quiet month catching up with live and finances.  As the weather changed and got warmer our thoughts turned to the biggest and never ending  project the garden.

By April we were finally able to start work on our new design and hopefully it will be Ruby friendly garden.

IMG_0023.JPG

Moving rubble and soil to level off the area we planned to put a greenhouse started with a slightly raised flower bed this seemed to grow higher every time we worked out in the garden.

May, the month of Hubbs birthday celebrations …. his birthday wish was granted by spending a weekend in Cardiff exploring the sights of Cardiff Castle and of course a trip to the Dr Who museum.

246.JPG

June and every spare moment until September was filled with spending time in the garden, we purchased a polycarbonate 8” by 6” greenhouse this needed its own corner of the garden which needed a retaining wall to be built, the ground levelling and a hard standing built.  We also replaced 3 fence  panels on one side of the garden making the top part of the garden now much safer for the dogs.

July we had the pleasure of attending a friends wedding in Glastonbury, this meant another nice treat of staying over in a hotel.  Really should do that more often.

In August, Ruby now aged 7mths came for her first sleep over …. reminded me of how much hard work small babies are but I loved every minute of it.  Over the following months Ruby came for more sleep overs not as many as I’d like but that will get better in the new year.

img_5252

September we ticked off something else on my bucket list which was a trip to Westernbirt  Arboretum.   The trees were just starting to change to their glorious autumn colours, they have a great collection of Maples which showed this off to the best.

IMG_5439 (2).JPG

November I ventured on to what has become the biggest challenge of the year.  I managed to secure a place on the Return to practise course which will eventually enable me to practice as a qualified nurse again.  My place has been supported by Glos  Hospitals NHS Trust so I have been very fortunate in being employed whilst taking the course.

Returning to the NHS after what must be nearly 20yrs I’ve seen some huge changes, some things obviously haven’t changed and with some great people to support me I feel I’ve settled back well into what has become a very fast paced daily routine.  The practical ward placement has been easy compares to the academic side of the course, writing reflective assignments is very new to me although I suppose you could call what I’ve done in this blog …reflective.

This brings me to December ….. nearly a year since my last blog….   I have lots more adventures for Hubbs and I next year ..there’s still a huge amount of work to do on the garden before it is totally safe for Ruby.

So I end this entry by wishing everyone that should take the time to read it

MERRY CHRISTMAS AND A HAPPY NEW YEAR

xx

 

Leave a Reply

